college · personal

Trying to Adult

Today is the day. In my case, today is my favorite day of the year. It’s probably a different day for you, but I’m sure you celebrate it all the same… Probably with cake. Scratch that, definitely with cake.

I tried to make it pretty clear, but if you haven’t already guessed, I’m talking about birthdays. Mine happens to be today. July 17th is the day that I claim to be all mine. Every family has their own birthday traditions, whether you go to the same restaurant every year or you are more like Dudley Dursley receiving 36 presents (even though last year you had 37, but that is neither here nor there). I’ve always loved celebrating my birthday; from the party planning to the pure anticipation of being another year older. But for some reason, this year kind of snuck up on me. I had nothing planned, no family was coming into town, I was almost certain that most of my friends had forgotten I had a birthday coming up since neither I nor they had mentioned anything about it. Because of this lack of preparing for a party, I had not mentally prepared myself to be another year older. I feel as though I had just gotten used to being eighteen and now suddenly, I’m not.

Being nineteen seals my adulthood even further. Since I’m sure any “adult” I know can relate to this post: 7d7baaeb7980e7fd7e45a37afb8043ec--beautiful-weird.jpg

And to try to keep myself from having a nervous break while I begin the transition from eighteen to nineteen, I have decided to list all the great things that come with being nineteen.

Let’s celebrate being adultier adults together!

 

1. Buying sharpies and lotto tickets 

This is sort of the “rite of passage” for every person on their eighteenth birthday. To go to their local convenience store or gas station and buy something that you would need to get carded on. Usually sharpies, lottery tickets, and cigarettes.

 

2. Wanting to see a movie randomly, and then doing it

Same goes for spur of the moment Target runs, trips to Sephora, or coffee shops.

 

3. Buying whatever you want at the grocery store 

Yes, this includes the candy aisle, the ice cream section, and cookie department. Also, did you know that Target makes these little fruit leather strips? And can I mention Halo Top ice cream? And Nutella in the biggest jar you could imagine? These are just a few of my new favorite things and they are a must to keep stocked in my kitchen!

 

4. Being the same age as Adele when she wrote her album 19

Since I was ten years old when her album first came out, I couldn’t really understand her music, nor did I even know it existed. I can now connect to her soulful melodies that seem to transcend time from her album 19. (My personal favorites include To Make You Feel My Love and My Same just to name a few.)

 

5. Decorating your apartment however you want (with roommates’ approval)

If I want to hang Avengers posters from the walls in my living room and have my Pinterest perfect kitchen then I can! (again, with approval from the roommates of course.)

 

6. Deciding if making your bed is more important than sleeping in

Usually, it’s not. But on the rare occasion when you have a free morning (or your room is getting too messy for you to handle), you have the liberty to make your bed and arrange your impressive throw pillow collection just how you like it.

 

7. Finding your perfect apartment

After months of searching, you finally get to sign the lease on your perfect apartment! This is the best and most terrifying moment of your life so far. It’s so exciting to have the blank slate of an empty apartment to now decorate with your best friends, but there’s also bills and utilities and stuff (but we don’t have to think about that yet).

 

8. Living with your best friends

Oh yeah, also one of the perks of getting an apartment with three other roommates. You get to live with your best friends!!

 

9. Deciding to be a dog mom or cat mom

Although no decisions have been made yet for me to be a momma to a fur baby, I like knowing that I have the ability to.

 

10. It’s your last year of being a teenager 

At 16 you start driving, 17 you are a dancing queen, 18 you become an adult in the eyes of the law, and 19 you are kind of just there. One more year until you enter your twenties, so it’s one last year to be a teenager.

 

11. Spending all day in a coffee shop

I would start every morning in a coffee shop if I had unlimited funds and an extra hour every morning, but unfortunately, that is not the case. Fortunately, I am able to go every few days or whenever I get a spare hour or two! I have been known to spend upwards of 6 continuous hours in a coffee shop as well as traveling to multiple coffee shops in one day.

 

12. No bedtime

Whataburger run at 12:00 am? No problem! Studying at the library until 3:00 in the morning for a test the next day? Let’s do it! All night Netflix marathon of obscure foreign films? Umm… Sure?

I definitely prefer to be on a normal sleep schedule but when a marathon of obscure foreign films is calling, I must be the one to answer.

 

13. Your roof, your rules

Enough said.

 

 

There are so many wonderful things to look forward to as an adult! And while I don’t consider myself a full fledged grown-up yet, I enjoy being nineteen. I enjoy being adult-ish.

Hats off to another year full of joy and cake!!

 

Thank you to everybody for celebrating with me!

 

Signed, an adultier

and far more mature

Maz

Leave a Reply

