personal

Constantly Caffeinated

Can I just say that I really love coffee. About 90% of the time you will find me either in a coffee shop or with a cup of it in my hands. I drink it like a Gilmore*. In fact, I’m sure it’s started to find its way into my blood stream. If you ripped me open not blood, but hot steamy coffee, would come pouring out.

Okay so I know that last part is a bit of an exaggeration, but that doesn’t stop the fact that I am constantly drinking coffee. But I decided to ask myself, why do I love coffee so much? The list is simple:

  1. Energy
  2. De-stresser
  3. Comfort

Let’s address Energy first. This one seems most self explanatory and I’m sure it’s what most everybody will agree with. And that is the simple fact that drinking coffee gives you energy. It motivates you to get stuff done and encourages you to get through the rest of the day. Some people call it a boost or a pick-me-up, but there is no denying that coffee beans are full of energy boosting magic. For someone like me who loves sleep, coffee is a necessity for this reason.

Moving on to number two, coffee is one of my de-stressers. It is very calming to me. I know that this sounds very contradicting to the first point I made, but just hear me out. I think it’s the smell more than anything that calms me down. Everyone has their own smells that whenever the scent hits their nose it takes them back. Back to a time that is associated with a good memory or feelings of joy. So even though coffee energizes me, It’s not an uncontrollable jittery feeling (most of the time). It’s a balance.

And last but not least, comfort. This is very closely related to number two, but I felt that it deserved its own paragraph. For me the act of drinking coffee is just soothing. I think this is very reflective of when I take time to read my bible and just sit down with God’s word, 9 out of 10 times I’m drinking coffee. I had a friend say to me once “I think sometimes that God does His best work in me over a cup of coffee.” Now I don’t know how or when God chooses to work in your life but for me, it’s most likely that coffee was involved.

All in all, coffee is simply a fact of my existence. If you sit me down and buy me a cup, we can talk for hours. And I will admit that without it, I am a mess. To quote Lorelai from the show Gilmore Girls,

“Oh I can’t stop drinking the coffee, I stop drinking the coffee and I stop doing the standing and the walking and the words-putting-into-sentence-doing.”

And that is a pretty accurate representation of me without my daily cup (or three) of coffee. So there you have it; the method behind the madness as I like to call it. I stand by my semi-obsessive coffee drinking and will not be changing my ways anytime soon.

Happy coffee drinking,

Maz

 

By the way, the * above is in reference to show Gilmore Girls, simply meaning that on the show they drink a lot of coffee. By the way, it’s a fantastic show if you’re looking for something to watch on Netflix.

And the picture above is one I took. It was over spring break about 2 years ago when I went to London. There will be a blog entry about London soon too so keep checking in to read about my trip in more detail.

Leave a Reply

